Scholarships and Awards

Check out our scholarship opportunities at Academic Works



Kiana Dressendorfer Scholarship in Archaeology

The Kiana Dressendorfer Scholarship in Archaeology is awarded annually to continuing SFSU undergraduate or graduate student to pursues his or her interests and education in the Archaeology of any region of the world.

The scholarship fund was set up in memory of SFSU student Kiana Dressendorfer by her family. Kiana passed away in December 1997 just after she completed her BA in History at SFSU. Beloved by students and faculty alike, Kiana's exuberance and intelligence are being honored by her family in this Scholarship Endowment so that other students may follow the path that interested Kiana so deeply – Archaeology.

Archaeology, for the purpose of this Scholarship, is broadly conceived as the study of the material culture of peoples worldwide, past and present, conducted through a variety of textual, theoretical, and methodological analyses, including excavation, ethnohistorical/documentary research, research of previously excavated materials housed in museums and special collections, and so on. Archeology includes aspects of study from Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.

In addition to scholarly research, archaeology may also include innovative approaches for teaching the subject at any level of education, including but not limited to developing teaching kits, field schools for young people, webs sites for curriculum, and virtual museums. The goal of archaeology is to add to our understanding of the worldwide, daily life, technology. society, politics, economy, and artistry of peoples worldwide through research and education. 

Current 2014 Award Holder

  • Koji Ozawa

Previous Award Holders

  • 2013 Christy Schirmer
  • 2012 Megan Watson
  • 2011 Amandine Castex
  • 2010 Deborah Morgan
  • 2009 Christopher Wood
  • 2008 Priscilla Mollard
  • 2007 Caitlin Schloss
  • 2006 Lisa Pesnichak
  • 2005 Amy McCarthy
  • 2004 Douglas Worley & Linn Gassaway
  • 2003 Tara Keyser
  • 2002 Ethan Spanier
  • 2001 Andrea Yankowski & Megan Wilkinson
  • 2000 Brian Daniels & Brett Rushing

Jay Young Award for Excellence

The Jay Young Anthropology Excellence is an annual Award available to the Department of Anthropology to support deserving student projects and activities, thanks to a generous gift by Jay P. Young of San Francisco, who graduated with a BA in Anthropology in 1981.

Current 2014 Faculty Award Holders

  • Robert Homsher
  • Aviva Sinervo

Current 2014 Student Award Holders

  • Chelsea Jordan

Previous Award Holders

  • 2013 Lauren Bjelde

Spotlight on a Jay P. Young Awardee

Vanessa Avery's thesis project took the form of an applied anthropological film about the community mobilization efforts to build the First Garifuna Community Hospital in Ciriboya, Honduras. In collaboration with the community of Ciriboya, her film provided a medium for the self-presentation of the Garifuna as a vibrant and empowered people collectively addressing their health care needs despite the sociopolitical oppression and structural violence imposed on them by the Honduran government. Her film aimed to inform a Western audience of the larger sociopolitical context in which hegemonic ideologies separate Garifuna into the category of the Honduran other, and against which the building of a free hospital took a stand. Additionally, her film was used by the community to continue to secure medicine and medical supplies for the hospital.

San Francisco State University Career Center

San Francisco State University’s Career Center provides support, advice and resources for students. Located in the Student Services Building (SSB) 206.

Teach for America

Visit the Teach For Amercia website.